Eva Sidlo

Eva is a fourth year studying Data Science with an emphasis in Quantitative Social Science.

What was your favorite data science course at Berkeley? What was so engaging about it?

Data 144 (Data Mining and Analytics): The class exposes students to machine learning in a manner that enables students to learn how to implement the material in real-world applications. In addition to the material, Professor Pardos structures the course so all students have a chance at succeeding. Despite the class not being curved, there’s a friendly competition in team projects like Kaggle or the Final that really pushes you to exercise what you’ve learned rather than regurgitating information.

I believe that exercising what you learn forces you to conjure up creative ways to remember the material, push your own limits, and grow confidence from your work rather than from a score on a test. It has by far been my favorite class at Berkeley and I wish more teachers taught like Professor Pardos.

Describe the most rewarding moment of your data science career

For me, it’s been more of a series of moments that have amassed into a confidence that I didn’t know before I started my data science career. I’ve had many instances where I’ve confronted hurdles that I thought I wasn’t capable of overcoming. Many of these instances included failing and learning from my mistakes as I persevered forward. As I conquered my doubts, I gained a sense of pride and assurance in myself that I could do what I thought was impossible before. As a member of the Berkeley Hope Scholars and leader/Femtor for Navigating Cal I give back by using these experiences to help those in marginalized communities succeed in STEM. The most rewarding part of my data science career is the way it’s made me perceive myself and how I can use my skills/experiences to uplift others.

Share about a time you learned from a mistake involving data science

I used to make the mistake of being reactive to problems without thoughtful consideration. I’d approach situations recklessly and my impulsiveness to hastily get to an answer had consequences. My journey with data science has taught me to slow down. I learned that I was too eager to find an answer rather than understand how that answer came to be. Before taking action now, I consider the variables and the available processes before making my first move. Instead of brutishly finding an answer to collect a reward, I’ve transitioned into a way of thinking that values asking questions. So in its essence, my mistake was avoiding making mistakes, and thereof avoiding a deeper appreciation of things.

What is some advice you would give to a younger woman who is intimidated to pursue a career in such a male dominated industry?

People would tell me that I should study something that came easier to me. It made me think it would be impossible to learn to code because I was older and had no background in programming. When I started taking my first coding classes at community college I felt extra scrutiny from my male peers. Unfortunately, doubting women’s STEM competency is a prevalent mentality; As a female, I’ve often been doubted in my decision to pursue programming. With maturity, I learned to transform these uncertainties as a source of motivation to draw from when I was falling victim to them myself. I recommend to surround yourself with individuals and mentors that hold or demonstrate positions/qualities that you wish to emulate. Don’t limit yourself to people that volunteer to be your mentor, open yourself to the unspoken mentorship of any individual that will help you encapsulate your dreams.

Have you ever felt imposter syndrome in this field?

Absolutely—I battled with this for some time until I found an appreciation for failing. When I finally let go of being the best and grasped onto being my own best I learned acceptance. I no longer appraised my value based on performance but instead on my growth. For those that feel imposter syndrome, my advice is to stop comparing yourself with discrete measurements and transition to a spectrum that incorporates who you are and your values. Once you release the tensions of holding onto contrived notions of success you allow yourself to find fulfillment in things that will reinforce your authentic strengths.

Who is a female role model in your life?

I have many female role models that I look up to—some of them are even men. It’s hard to choose a single person because there are so many things that these individuals I look up to embody differently. For each aspect of myself that I want to improve I have a person in mind that I wish to emulate. I believe it’s important to have a diverse field of individuals to draw insight from as a collective understanding imparts the most wisdom. To me, a female role model is not constrained to gender norms but instead justified by the woman that I strive to become—which may be perceived masculine or feminine, it’s just the best version of all the people I look up to.

Leave a comment